The Kenyan man and Russian woman were awarded $500,000 each for their accomplishment.

At an award ceremony in New York on Monday, Sammy Wanjiru and Liliya Shobukhova–both the 2009 and 2010 Bank of America Chicago Marathon champions–had accumulated enough points in the two-year series to win the 2009-2010 World Marathon Majors.

For Wanjiru, this is his second winning of the series.

“Last year I promised I would be back here to defend my World Marathon Majors title and I’m proud to have fulfilled that promise,” Wanjiru said. “Being the Olympic Marathon champion is a dream for everyone, but to win the World Marathon Majors series means that you have to be strong and consistent over two years and I’m happy to have achieved this honor twice.”

Upon receiving her award, Shobukhova was complimentary of the series.

“It is a great idea and serves not as pressure, but as a source of motivation for athletes to compete at their best at the world’s best races. After I won the 2009 Chicago Marathon I knew I had an opportunity to win the series title, and I’m proud to have achieved this goal and I hope to be back next year,” she said.

The series was established in 2006 and gives the world’s top runners points for top five finishes in the five events that comprise the World Marathon Majors: Virgin London Marathon, B.A.A. Boston Marathon, real,- Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon.

For More: World Marathon