Former Champions Return To The Frankfurt Marathon

The 29th edition of the race takes place at the end of October.

The 29th edition of the race takes place at the end of October.

Written by: David Monti

(c) 2011 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved. Used with permission.

Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich speaking to the press before the 2010 BMW Frankfurt Marathon (photo by and courtesy of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon)

The past three champions of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon have all been contracted to compete there again this year, organizers announced today.

The 29th edition of the race takes place on Sunday, October 30, in Germany’s financial capital. Kenyans Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (2008 winner), Gilbert Kirwa (2009) and Wilson Kipsang (2010), whom race director Jo Schindler has dubbed “The Great Three,” each lowered the course record in their victories: Kiprono Cheruiyot, who was a surprise winner, ran 2:07:21; Kirwa clocked 2:06:14; and Kipsang ran 2:04:57.

Kipsang’s was the fastest marathon run in Germany in 2010. Frankfurt’s flat, record-standard course and generous use of pacemaking was the lure for Kiprono Cheruiyot whose career best time of 2:05:52 came on the point-to-point Boston Marathon course without pacemakers.

“It was Robert’s desire to come back to Frankfurt this year,” said the event’s elite athletes director Christoph Kopp through a media release. “And I know that he did turn down better offers from other marathon races.”

In addition to the three most recent champions, Kopp has also recruited three-time champion Wilfred Kigen, who won the race from 2005 through 2007, and Ethiopian Deriba Merga, the 2009 Boston Marathon champion.

The BMW Berlin Marathon is the second-largest marathon in Germany behind the BMW Berlin Marathon. Last year’s race produced 9558 finishers.