Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Oregon Women Win NCAA Cross Country Title

Timing problems scar drama-filled women's race.

Timing problems scar drama-filled women’s race.

(c) 2012 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved. Used with permission.

LOUISVILLE, KY — After timing problems, two protests and some tears, the women of the University of Oregon were declared NCAA Division I Cross Country Champions here on a crisp, sunny day at E.P. ‘Tom’ Sawyer State Park.  Iowa State’s Betsy Saina won the individual title.

Saina, a senior who finished ninth in these championships last year, won the 6-kilometer race in a long sprint against the other two athletes who were favored for victory —Dartmouth’s Abbey D’Agostino and Oregon’s Jordan Hasay– who finished second and third, respectively. The trio had been pulled along in the early kilometers by Cal Poly freshman Laura Hollander who set a fast pace of 6:23 through 2-kilometers. Saina tried to remain patient, and kept a close eye on D’Agostino and Hasay.

“I looked back and I could see Jordan was here and Abbey was here, and I know, like, what they are doing,” Saina told reporters after the race. “I’m just going to wait until, like, the last minute.”

She did just that. In the final 30 meters, she hit her top speed, going through the finish line in 19:27.9. Hasay, clearly exhausted, could not hold off D’Agostino who was credited with second place, although both women were given the same time of 19:28.6.

RELATED: Oklahoma State Wins Men’s Race

“I don’t know what else I could have done,” said Hasay, who finished second at these championships last year as a junior by just six tenths of a second. “I was trying to go last and I did, but she just kind of held me off. It sucks, you know, being that close again. Hopefully our team did well.”

They did, but that was not the initial news they received. In the initial cut of the results, Oregon fifth-year senior Alexi Pappas, D’Agostino’s former teammate at Dartmouth, was left out of the results (she finished 8th overall and 3rd in the team scoring). That put Ray Treacy’s Providence College Lady Friars in first place, a result which was announced as official by the public address announcer. The Oregon women huddled with their assistant coach Maurica Powell and wept openly in the recovery tent.

About 20 minutes later, after a protest by Oregon head coach Robert Johnson, Pappas was added back to the results, giving the Ducks 114 points to Providence’s 183 who were relegated to second.

“In one way or another every runner for Oregon stepped up and ran in a way they hadn’t before,” Coach Johnson told “I am so proud of our women’s team and the job done by assistant coach Maurica Powell.”

Treacy accepted the result, but was frustrated with the process.

“We were national champions for ten minutes,” Treacy told a caller on his cell phone.

But the protests weren’t over. Florida State’s Amanda Winslow, who had finished 17th overall and 10th in the team scoring, had also been missed in the results, initially reported as “disqualified.” When she was reinstated, that moved Florida State to fourth place with 202 points, just four behind third place Stanford.

Florida State coach Karen Harvey was too angry to speak on the record, but said she was greatly disappointed with the technical execution of the meet and the impact it had on her athletes.

Women’s Results (6K):
Teams: 1. Oregon, 114 points; 2. Providence, 183; 3. Stanford, 198; 4. Florida State, 202; 5. Michigan, 247…

1. Betsy Saina, SR, Iowa State (KEN), 19:27.9
2. Abbey D’Agostino, JR, Dartmouth, 19:28.6
3. Jordan Hasay, SR, Oregon, 19:28.6
4. Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton, SR, Wichita State (KEN), 19:33.6
5. Risper Kimaiyo, SR, UTEP (KEN), 19:41.0
6. Cally Macumber, JR, Kentucky, 19:42.2
7. Mareike Schrulle, SR, Iowa (GER), 19:43.3
8. Alexi Pappas, SR, Oregon, 19:43.9
9. Laura Hollander, FR, Cal Poly, 19:45.2
10. Sarah Collins, FR, Providence, 19:50.7