Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Mo Farah & Brigid Kosgei Win the 2018 Chicago Marathon

Britian’s Mo Farah and Kenya's Brigid Kosgei win the Chicago Marathon, securing the 8th and 3rd fastest times in the event's history in their respective divisions.

Although staying in the middle of the pack for most of the race, Britain’s Mo Farah broke the tape in 2:05.11, to take home the win during this year’s Chicago Marathon. Farah’s time is the 8th fastest men’s time in the event’s history. On the women’s side, Kenya’s Brigid Kosgei grabbed the win in an official time of 2:18.35, the third fastest women’s time in the event’s history.

Cool and confident throughout the whole race, Farah seemed to be taking his time to make his moves. At around mile 18, a pack of six led the way until mile 19 when only four remained with Farah and American Galen Rupp trying to catch up. Mile 24 was Farah’s breakaway moment as he and Ethiopia’s Mosinet Geremew chased the finish line in stride.

The pair stayed together until the final mile when Farah made his move to put some space between him and Geremew. Making his way to the tape, he began shaking his left fist in the air, then right, then left, knowing that he had secured his win in only his third marathon and his first on U.S. soil. This also set a new European record in the event, the previous being set by Sondre Norstad Moen (NOR) in 2:05.48.

Geremew came in second place in 2:05:24 followed by Japan’s Suguru Osako in 2:05:50. Osako will also be awarded 100 million yen from his home country for breaking the national record in the event. He’ll be donating USD $100K to his coach as a thanks.

Kenya’s Kenneth Kipkemoi grabbed the fourth spot in 2:05.57 while Rupp ran in at 2:06.21, after putting up a good fight throughout the race and at one time sitting in second place. He was the only American to make the Top 10.

Photo Credit: Bank of America Chicago Marathon

Over in the women’s race, Kosgei’s win comes after a second place finish in 2017 in Chicago where she ran it in 2:20.22. The Kenyan broke away with a big lead near the end of the race, putting 26 seconds then a minute in between her and second place. Of her nine career marathons, she’s finished in first or second eight times.

In second was Roza Dereje (ETH) followed by Shure Demise (ETH). Although the Americans didn’t secure any podium finishes, they took four of the Top 10 spots: Sarah Crouch (6th), Taylor Ward (7th), Kate Landau (8th) and Marci Klimek (10th). Laura Thweatt dropped out of the race between miles 9 and 10 while Gwen Jorgensen placed 11th in 2:36.23. In her marathon debut, Greece’s Alexi Pappas finished in 2:43.38 for 14th place.

In the men’s wheelchair division American Daniel Romanchuk crossed the finish at 1:31.34 while Manuela Schär (SUI) won in 1:41.38. Schär was followed by Australia’s Madison De Rozario in second (1:43.16) and Susannah Scaroni from the U.S. in third (1:44.48). The men’s side saw last year’s champion Marcel Hug (SUI) take second in 1:31.35 and Britain’s David Weir in third in 1:31.43.

View the full race results here.