Boston Marathon Elite Fields Stacked With Past Champs & Olympians

This morning, John Hancock and the Boston Athletic Association announced the Boston Marathon's full lineup of American and international elites competing at this year's event.

Get access to everything we publish when you sign up for Outside+.

This morning, John Hancock and the Boston Athletic Association announced the Boston Marathon‘s full lineup of American and international elites competing at this year’s event on April 15. Joining the already-announced U.S. men’s and women’s open and wheelchair fields will be 52 competitors from around the globe hoping to walk away with the coveted olive wreath.

The international field includes nine Boston Marathon open champions and seven Boston Marathon wheelchair champions. Combined, the field has won more than 200 international marathons including Olympic and Paralympic medalists, IAAF World Championships Marathon medalists and Abbott World Marathon Majors champions.

For the women’s elite field, two-time World Championships Marathon gold medalist, three-time Abbott World Marathon Majors series winner and 2017 Boston champion Edna Kiplagat of Kenya will go up against the 2015 World Championships Marathon gold medalist, 2016 Olympic Marathon bronze medalist and 2014 Bank of America Chicago Marathon champion Mare Dibaba.

Joining them will be Ethiopians Aselefech Mergia (2:19.31), Worknesh Degefa (2:19.53) and Meskerem Assefa (2:20.36), Belaynesh Oljira (2:21.53), Marta Megra (2:22.35) and Kenyans Sharon Cherop (2:22.28) and Betsy Saina (2:22.56)—all of whom own PBs under 2:23.00. Sally Kipyego, who previously represented Kenya, will now head to Hopkinton Street as a new member of Team USA.

In the women’s wheelchair division, Manuela Schar of Switzerland returns as the first woman ever to go under the 1:30 barrier on the course and will be joined by compatriot Sandra Graf, Australians Madison De Rozario and Eliza Ault-Connell, Margriet Van Den Broek of the Netherlands, Canadian Diane Roy and Aline de Rocha of Brazil.

Leading the men’s open division is 2018 defending Boston Marathon champion Yuki Kawauchi who will go up against 2018 TCS New York City Marathon champion Lelisa Desisa. Including Desisa, 11 others have clocked in PBs under 2:07.00 including Kenyans Lawrence Cherono (2:04.06), Kenneth Kipkemoi (2:05.44), Felix Kandie (2:06.03), Geoffrey Kirui (2:06.27), Festus Talam (2:06.13), Wesley Korir (2:06.13), Philemon Rono (2:06.52); Ethiopians Sisay Lemma (2:04.08), Lemi Berhanu (2:04.33); and Hiroto Inoue of Japan (2:06.54).

Previously-announced defending champion Marcel Hug of Switzerland in the men’s wheelchair division will look to out race an impressive field which includes 10-time Boston Marathon winner Ernst van Dykof South Africa and 2018 Chicago and New York City Marathons champion Daniel Romanchuk. Lining up alongside them will be Boston winners Masazumi Soejima and Hiroyuki Yamamoto of Japan and former course record holder Joshua Cassidy of Canada.

See the full list below: