Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Biwot Wins Beach To Beacon 10K

Race founder Joan Benoit Samuelson ran the course with fellow running legends Frank Shorter and Bill Rodgers.

Race founder Joan Benoit Samuelson ran the course with fellow running legends Frank Shorter and Bill Rodgers.

From: Running USA

CAPE ELIZABETH, Maine — Kenyans Stanley Biwott and Margaret Wangari-Muriuki prevailed in hot, humid conditions Saturday morning, winning the men’s and women’s titles at the 15th edition of the TD Beach to Beacon 10K Road Race in Cape Elizabeth. Biwott ran a strong race, clocking 28 minutes for 6.2 miles, seemingly less affected by 80-degree weather and 60 percent humidity that took a toll on the field, while Wangari-Muriuki continued her winning streak on the American roads by edging countrywoman Emily Chebet, both timed in 31:52, in one of the closest women’s finishes in the history of the TD Beach to Beacon.

In the Maine resident races, 41-year-old Sheri Piers of Falmouth dominated the field to repeat as champion (34:24), while Ethan Shaw, 22, of Falmouth, a recent Dartmouth graduate, broke through against a strong field to win his first men’s title (30:38).

The winners were among the event record 6,107 finishers from 17 countries, 44 states and more than 240 Maine cities and town who finished the winding, picturesque 6.2-mile course on a sunny, hot and humid morning on the Maine coast. Thousands of spectators lined the course and filled bleachers at the finish to cheer the runners.

In honor of the 15th running, race founder and Olympic gold medalist Joan Benoit Samuelson completed the race alongside fellow marathon legends Bill Rodgers and Frank Shorter, who won Olympic Marathon gold in 1972.

“It was truly inspiring and gratifying to be on the course this morning and see the faces of runners who are so committed to pursuing their dreams and seeing their lives changed by this experience,” said Samuelson, who returned to the finish line to cheer and greet runners behind her. “And it was doubly satisfying to run with Bill, Frank and Leon (Gorman), three men who have had such a significant impact on my life. Everyone was a champion today.”

Leon Gorman, 77, is the former president and current Chairman of the Board at L.L. Bean and wore bib #1 on Saturday. Samuelson, winner of the first women’s Olympic Marathon in 1984, Shorter, 64, who also won silver at the 1976 Olympics, and Rodgers, 64, a 1976 Olympian and four-time winner of both the Boston and New York City Marathons, ran Gorman’s 11-minute pace to finish together.

The world class athletes, who vied for the $10,000 first-place prize, glided through the course at a much faster clip.

Biwott, who has shattered course records at the Paris Marathon and Paris Half Marathons already in 2012, moved into the lead pack early on and never relinquished as others fell off the pace. Kenyans Silas Kipruto, who won the Quad-City Times Bix 7 last weekend,Lucas Rotich, Allan Kiprono, Kiplimo Kumatai and Ethiopian newcomer Gebretsadik Abraha all found their way to the front only to fall off the pace as the race progressed. By mile 5, it came down to a two-man race featuring Biwott and countryman Stephen Kipkosgei-Kibet, 25, who finished fourth at the 2010 TD Beach to Beacon.

Biwott beat Kipkosgei-Kibet (28:02) to the finish line, with 22-year-old Rotich (28:11) following behind in third. Ed Muge, 29, of Kenya, the 2008-09 TD Beach to Beacon champ, finished fifth (28:18). The first American finisher was Sean Quigley of Boulder, Colo., who finished 11th (29:45).

On the women’s side, Wangari-Muriuki, 26, coming off her victory at the Quad-City Times Bix 7 last weekend in Iowa, stretched her winning streak to two – but just barely. She joined Kenyans Emily Chebet and Lineth Chepkurui (31:54), the course record holder and 2010 TD Beach to Beacon champ, to form a lead pack that pushed the pace. The speedy Wangari-Muriuki, who finished third at 1500m at the 2012 African Championships, stumbled at the finish, missing the break tape, but was able to hold off a fast-closing Chebet by .6 of a second. Chepkurui took third with Kenyan Rita Jeptoo, 31, the 2006 Boston Marathon champ, in fourth (31:58).

Renee Baillie, 30, of Bend, Ore. was the first American finisher with a 32:31 for fifth place, just ahead of Julia Lucas, 28, of Eugene, Ore., who took sixth in 32:40.

In all, prize money of more than $60,000 was awarded to the runners, including $10,000 for the overall male and female winners, $5000 for the second place winners and cash prizes for the top 10 finishers and in the different categories. The Maine Resident winners received $1000.

Other winners included: Masters Men – Dennis Simonaitis, 50, of Rochester, N.Y. (32:34, $1000); Masters Women – Sheri Piers, 41, of Falmouth (34:24, $1000); Wheelchair Division, Men – Craig Blanchette, 44, of Battle Ground, Wash. (23:38) – his second title, and Women – Cheri Blauwet, 32, of Boston (34:43).

15th TD Beach to Beacon 10K
Cape Elizabeth, ME, Saturday, August 4, 2012

1) Stanley Biwott (KEN), 28:00, $10,000
2) Stephen Kipkosgei-Kibet (KEN), 28:02, $5000
3) Lucas Kimeli Rotich (KEN), 28:11, $3000
4) Kiplimo Kumata(KEN), 28:13, $2000
5) Edward Muge (KEN), 28:18, $1000
6) Allan Kiprono (KEN), 28:22, $900
7) Gebretsadik Adiss Abraha (ETH), 28:29, $800
8) Silas Kipruto (KEN), 28:38, $700
9) Lani Rutto (KEN), 29:09, $600
10) Sammy Chelanga (KEN), 29:24, $500

1) Margaret Wangari-Muriuki (KEN), 31:52, $10,000
2) Emily Chebet (KEN), 31:52, $5000
3) Lineth Chepkuru (KEN), 31:54, $3000
4) Rita Jeptoo (KEN), 31:58, $2000
5) Renee Baillie (USA / OR), 32:31, $1000
6) Julia Lucas (USA / OR), 32:40, $900
7) Wude Ayalew (ETH), 32:51, $800
8) Malika Mejdoub (MAR), 33:23, $700
9) Jelliah Tinega (KEN), 33:33, $600
10) Rebecca Donaghue (USA / PA), 34:11, $500

Complete results and more at: